Week 12: Reasons to be thankful

As the hectic Thanksgiving week wraps up, I feel thankful for many things.  Of course, the big family with cousins and dogs we had fill our house on Thursday, our lovely house itself, and getting to see my brother if only for a short time.

I’m also thankful we picked last week, a short one, to begin packing Logan lunches.  Hard-boiled eggs, carrots, broccoli, vegan cheese, chocolate “pudding” … daycare reports that Logan is doing a good job understanding he is on a special diet and not complaining about wanting what the other kids have though he’s not eating a ton of his food, either.  We haven’t started sending breakfasts or snacks yet; we’re still easing into effort of putting lunch together every night.  It means he is still getting some sugar, unfortunately.  We’ve thought about getting around the hassle of sending breakfast by keeping Logan at home an extra 45 minutes, feeding him breakfast at home, and then taking him to daycare just in time to catch his bus to preschool.  That would mean he would qualify for only half-day tuition rather than full-day tuition.  But, incredibly, going half-day for Logan would actually cost us $3 more per day because A) it’s only a $60 savings anyway and B) dropping him off an hour late would mean I miss the last bus and would have to drive—and park—downtown.  And the headaches we’d save by feeding him at home would be cancelled out by the headaches caused by battling traffic.

I’m very thankful for my husband and his ability to cook despite his inability to ever tone things down.  Our Thanksgiving meal was a strictly traditional feast with all the bad stuff: stuffing, mashed potatoes (laced with cheese), green bean casserole, buns.  I—and his sister—had tried to convince him to cook more simply this year, but Jason has this crazy need to exceed.  It’s exasperating but also endearing; I know he wanted to please everyone rather than have everyone conform to Logan’s diet.  Luckily, Logan has no interest in side dishes and only ate turkey and some raw broccoli and carrots.  I think the commotion of a dozen people he doesn’t see too often all around the table also motivated him to leave quickly, before he could notice the three pies on the counter.

Our meal at my mom’s house two days later was healthier and more suited for Logan’s diet, which is yet another reason why I am always so thankful for my mother.  She works so hard to help out with our diet attempts, buying two big grocery bags full of things she found at Trader Joe’s that were GFCF and some sugar-free, too.

But thinking about that, I remember I am not thankful for seaweed snacks.  I just about gagged and crashed driving down the highway as I popped one in my mouth.  The kids may have liked them; I did see them take a few nibbles, at least.  But mostly they just loved crumbling the papery sheets into confetti and tossing them all over the minivan.

Most of all, though, I am thankful for the progress Logan seems to be making as we work to decrease his sugar intake.  True, he still has many struggles, and I fought tears on Thanksgiving while watching him try (and mostly fail) to play with his cousins.

“Logan’s kicking us!” they complained during their rough-house game of football in our backyard.

How do I explain to a 7-year-old, whose social functioning skills are perfectly intact, that some people cannot understand the subtle difference why it is OK to run full-speed into another person’s body, wrap your arms around his waist and throw him to the frozen ground but not OK to kick his legs?  Why it is OK to steal the ball from another kid and run away with it and yell, “touchdown!” but it is not OK to steal the ball when the “play” is over and run in the wrong direction?  More importantly, how do I explain those subtle differences to Logan?  No wonder he often tries to retreat to his video games, where the rules are clear-cut and consistent.

But I think Logan has been happier and more compliant the past week or two, and I try to remember that.  Friday he helped me put ornaments on our Christmas tree, and the whole day was about one of my favorite days ever.  Now because he’s leveled off a bit, I’ll be increasing his probiotics this week, and Jason will begin to bake with lakanto and attempt to ferment vegetables.  It’s likely Logan might regress a bit because of these things, and I’ll try to remember the reasons why again we’re attempting all of this.

Feeling: Thankful

Leave a Reply

Is This Wholeness?

A messy food, eating, and spiritual journey in 30 days.

expecting to fly

emptying the nest: the mother of intention.

All In Awe

Formerly The Diet Diaires: An attempt at alleviating autism through diet

1966

A Journal of Creative Nonfiction

BREVITY's Nonfiction Blog

(Somewhat) Daily News from the World of Literary Nonfiction

Carrie Cariello

Exploring the Colorful World of Autism

Left Brain Right Brain

Autism Science, News and Opinions since 2003.

Health, Home, & Happiness

Just another WordPress.com site

Sarah in Small Doses

Random Observations. And Sometimes Vocabulary.

Seventh Voice

Simply my take on living life as a female with Asperger's Syndrome.

