Week 24: Oh, the places we can go…

From across the room, Logan’s eyes spotted the slim, pastel-stripped book squeezed into the over-packed bookshelf.  I’d placed it there, out of his and his sister’s reach, because I didn’t want the pages torn accidentally.  It had been a gift from my mom on my sixth grade graduation, and it is one of my most treasured books.

But Logan insisted.  So I took down Oh, the Places You’ll Go! by Dr. Seuss and read it to him yet again.  I’ve never been able to get through it with him without my voice cracking.

All Alone!
Oh, the Places You'll Go Whether you like it or not,
Alone will be something

 you’ll be quite a lot.

And when you’re alone, there’s a very good chance
you’ll meet things that scare you right out of your pants.
There are some, down the road between hither and yon,
that can scare you so much you won’t want to go on.

But on you will go

though the weather be foul
On you will go
though your enemies prowl…

On and on you will hike

and I know you’ll hike far

and face up to your problems

whatever they are…

And will you succeed?

Yes! You will, indeed!

Logan, as we experiment with your diet, I want you to know how much I love you.  I sometimes wince thinking about who might be reading my blog—particularly anyone who lives with autism.

At times my blog might seem to portray autism as an awful thing, something we’re going to dietary extremes to overcome.  It might seem like anything—even life without sugar—would be better.  But the truth is, Logan, if you were to remain the way you are right now, that would be just fine.  Autism is a struggle, but it is not awful.  If anything, it’s taught us how strong and tenacious you can be.  As I read you Dr. Seuss, Llama Llama and your car books, I’ve been reading myself The Spark by Kristine Barnett, which is about her genius son with autism, and articles about Anthony Ianni, an anti-bullying advocate and Michigan State basketball player with autism.  There are so many inspiring stories out there, and I know one day, you will be a part of that mix.  Logan, I’m so proud of you for all you’ve overcome thus far, and I know you’ll face up to your future challenges, too, whatever they are.

Kid, as Dr. Seuss says, you’ll move mountains!

Feeling: Inspired

One response to “Week 24: Oh, the places we can go…

  1. Grammy

    I am very proud of all your successes Laura. Especially your efforts to be the best mother to your children.
    Logan, if you ever feel alone, remember that your Grammy will always love you just the way you are!

Leave a Reply

Is This Wholeness?

A messy food, eating, and spiritual journey in 30 days.

expecting to fly

emptying the nest: the mother of intention.

All In Awe

Formerly The Diet Diaires: An attempt at alleviating autism through diet

1966

A Journal of Creative Nonfiction

BREVITY's Nonfiction Blog

(Somewhat) Daily News from the World of Literary Nonfiction

Carrie Cariello

Exploring the Colorful World of Autism

Left Brain Right Brain

Autism Science, News and Opinions since 2003.

Health, Home, & Happiness

Just another WordPress.com site

Sarah in Small Doses

Random Observations. And Sometimes Vocabulary.

Seventh Voice

Simply my take on living life as a female with Asperger's Syndrome.

