Week 25: My turn …

As today is Ash Wednesday, the start of Lent, I’m thinking about what to give up for the next 40 days.  Brief disclaimer: I am not Catholic, but I do believe the act of periodic discipline is an important one recognized by many religions, and since I’d gotten in the habit of abstaining for Lent while growing up, it’s easy to continue.

Many people give up chocolate or sweets for Lent (hence the explosion of chocolate bunnies come Easter), and this year, I will be, too.  Of course, we’ve already given up gluten, casein, and sugar in our house for Logan’s diet, and the biggest question I always get is, “are you doing the diet, too?”

“Sort of,” is my usual reply.  To support Logan, we all eat GFCFSugarF meals at home, but when I eat lunch at work, I’ll grab a prepackaged (translation: sugar!) cup of soup and split a candy bar with a coworker.  Girl Scout cookie season also just ended, and it turned out to be my and my husband’s downfall: we bought and hid boxes of Thin Mints, Samoas, and Tag-Alongs in the highest kitchen cupboard, out of reach and out of sight for Logan and Sadie.  Now, after the kids are in bed and I’m cramming cookies in my mouth, I’m feeling guilty for even saying I’ve “sort of” given up sugar.  I just avoid it during the day and overdose at night.  And I feel like crap for it–physically, in addition to mentally.

So here I go.  I am officially (blogging about it makes it official) going 100% sugar-free, just like Logan.

I hope I do as well as my son.

Feeling: Craving sugar already.  12 hours down, 39 1/2 days to go.

Leave a Reply

Is This Wholeness?

A messy food, eating, and spiritual journey in 30 days.

expecting to fly

emptying the nest: the mother of intention.

All In Awe

Formerly The Diet Diaires: An attempt at alleviating autism through diet

1966

A Journal of Creative Nonfiction

BREVITY's Nonfiction Blog

(Somewhat) Daily News from the World of Literary Nonfiction

Carrie Cariello

Exploring the Colorful World of Autism

Left Brain Right Brain

Autism Science, News and Opinions since 2003.

Health, Home, & Happiness

Just another WordPress.com site

Sarah in Small Doses

Random Observations. And Sometimes Vocabulary.

Seventh Voice

Simply my take on living life as a female with Asperger's Syndrome.

