Week 31: Thyme (and onions) to become crackers

I thought I’d finally found a recipe where I actually knew all of the ingredients on the list.  Then I read the directions, and saw it also instructed the cook to place a ball of dough “in the middle of a piece of parchment paper.”  What the hell is parchment paper, I wondered.   Do I have to go back in time and find a shoppe that sells quills, scrolls and ink blotters?

Ugh.  I was informed that parchment paper is simply wax paper.  That was better, but I still didn’t completely understand the directions to “fold the paper like a book with the ball of dough between the covers.”  Luckily, my husband tackled this recipe for onion herb crackers.

I was super excited to make them because I was pretty sure Logan would like them and because they are perfectly acceptable on a sugar-free diet–not even any sort of ify ingredients that we occasionally sneak in, like hazelnut flour.  The parchment paper threw me, though, as did the cooking time — it took two hours to bake the cracker sheets, plus the time it took to blend, puree, mince, and whatever the hell else this recipe asked us to do.

We started with mostly chopped onions...

We started with mostly chopped onions…

The recipe, from The Candida Free Cookbook, was:

 

  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 1 large clove garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup grape seed oil
  • 2 tsp fresh thyme leaves
  • 1/4 tsp Himalayan rock salt (yeah, this was one that I used to have no clue about)
  • Ground black pepper to taste
  • 1 and 1/2 cup ground flaxseeds
  • 1/4 cup ground sunflower seeds

All the “wet” or fresh ingredients were made smooth in the food processor, then the dry flax seeds and sunflower seeds were added and pulsed together, too.  It made a big bowl of dough that we (yes, I helped with this part) rolled thin between two sheets of very unfancy wax paper.  My husband then scored the dough into squares and popped a baking sheet into the oven.  The whole house smelled delicious–a deep, rich, oniony aroma that’s completely the opposite of the sugary smell of chocolate cookies I would have in another lifetime said smelled fantastic.

... and added flaxseeds and sunflower seeds to round out the cracker dough.

… and added flaxseeds and sunflower seeds to round out the cracker dough.

“Are they ready yet?” Logan continually asked.  He was captivated by the smell, too, and probably by the magnitude of the preparation.  He stood by the oven, staring in, demanding to try one every so often.  Maybe it was the build-up, the anticipation, that made them so good to him–because when they finally were ready and cooled, he gobbled up as many as I’d give him.

The rest I stored as an easy snack to send to daycare and school, which was another reason why I’d wanted to try this recipe–as crackers, they’re easy to eat anywhere.

This one was kind of hard for me, but worth it–hooray!

Feeling: Happy

Leave a Reply

Is This Wholeness?

A messy food, eating, and spiritual journey in 30 days.

expecting to fly

emptying the nest: the mother of intention.

All In Awe

Formerly The Diet Diaires: An attempt at alleviating autism through diet

1966

A Journal of Creative Nonfiction

BREVITY's Nonfiction Blog

(Somewhat) Daily News from the World of Literary Nonfiction

Carrie Cariello

Exploring the Colorful World of Autism

Left Brain Right Brain

Autism Science, News and Opinions since 2003.

Health, Home, & Happiness

Just another WordPress.com site

Sarah in Small Doses

Random Observations. And Sometimes Vocabulary.

Seventh Voice

Simply my take on living life as a female with Asperger's Syndrome.

