Week 38: Missing the cook

This week my kids and I have been fending for ourselves in the kitchen as my husband flew to San Francisco for work.  Before he left, he made me practice prepping chicken thighs (frowning at me when I could barely lift the knife to slice through them…from time to time, I get this weird thing where it literally feels as though all the muscles melt out of  my hands–it really had only a little bit to do with the fact I was touching raw meat), made me learn how to turn on the grill, and made me actually cook them.

So of course for dinners this week, I made frozen GFCF chicken nuggets, frozen fish, and warmed up pre-cooked ham steaks.

I did it!

I did it!

Jason was justifiably worried about leaving us, I suppose.  And we definitely miss our cook!

But still, I think I did pretty well cooking a string of gluten-free, casein-free, and sugar-free meals myself.  Every night we all started with a big salad of spinach, arugula, pumpkin seeds, and fermented cabbage, and at least one other vegetable.  Logan and Sadie are still eating so slowly that by the time they cleaned their plates I could probably go start and finish Moby Dick that’s been sitting on my bookshelf forever (hell, maybe I could even fly to Nantucket and learn to harpoon a whale myself in the time it takes them to eat a few mouthfuls of lettuce).  But, at least they’re eating.  And even better–yesterday Logan’s preschool teacher emailed and mentioned how happy and talkative Logan has been in class this week.  Hooray for healthy and happy days!

Feeling: Upbeat

Leave a Reply

Is This Wholeness?

A messy food, eating, and spiritual journey in 30 days.

expecting to fly

emptying the nest: the mother of intention.

All In Awe

Formerly The Diet Diaires: An attempt at alleviating autism through diet

1966

A Journal of Creative Nonfiction

BREVITY's Nonfiction Blog

(Somewhat) Daily News from the World of Literary Nonfiction

Carrie Cariello

Exploring the Colorful World of Autism

Left Brain Right Brain

Autism Science, News and Opinions since 2003.

Health, Home, & Happiness

Just another WordPress.com site

Sarah in Small Doses

Random Observations. And Sometimes Vocabulary.

Seventh Voice

Simply my take on living life as a female with Asperger's Syndrome.

