Week 48: Choking back frustrations

Even before we had kids, neither my husband nor I were great at keeping a clean kitchen.  When Jason responds, “Fine, I’ll clean the kitchen,” he usually means “…in a week or so.”  Having two kids and adding a special diet has definitely been a test of my Martha Stewart factor, one I admittedly fail probably more often than not.  But I try.  

In fact, I’ve been trying really hard lately, as I’ve decided to stop cleaning with chemical-based products like Lysol.  I’ve read plenty of articles suggesting people with autism have bodies that are unable to move metals and chemicals out of their systems, and after I started cleaning with natural products, I realized that “remove toxins” from the home is in fact one of the steps on TACA’s Autism Journey Blueprint.  So now when I clean, I use baking soda or apple cider vinegar–of course, the key words there are “when I clean.”

The dishes just keep piling up.

The dishes just keep piling up.

“When” is even more true now, as the straw that broke the camel’s back might just have fallen: Our dishwasher has finally gone kaput after about a year of half-working.  We’d tried fixing it (both Jason, his brother-in-law and a repair man), and tried switching detergents.  Everything would seem to fix the problem for a day or so, and then we’d be back to semi-sticky plates and saucers.  And after spending 45 minutes hand-washing dishes, I definitely have no energy left to clean anything else.  

Nothing seems fair, does it.  I suppose it parallels with Logan and our diet attempts for the past (almost) year.  It seems to be working, then reports like last week, that Logan’s been aggressive, hitting and saying things like, “I’ll choke you!”  

The only explanation I can come up with (other than maybe stacks and stacks of unwashed dishes on the counter pisses him off, too, but I don’t really think that’s the case) is fruit.  Once again, I’ve been trying to sneak fruit back into his diet.  Over the past two weeks I’ve allowed him a few slices of green apples and a few measly raspberries and blueberries.  I know fruit is supposed to be off the diet, but I can’t help thinking — can this tiny bit seriously hurt?

Apparently it can.  So he’s off fruit again — we’ll see how this week goes.

I’ll blame the dishwasher, but truthfully, I just wanted to be lazy last week and not cook–instead, I took my kids for a few hikes and to the beach.  So I don’t really have a new recipe that I tried, but I’ll elaborate on an old one I mentioned in Week 2.  I hadn’t made it in quite a while, since it’s not the healthiest meal ever, but at least it doesn’t have any sugar, gluten or casein.  I call it No-Sugar Mac:

My No-Sugar Mac

  • Add 1 package of shirataki noodles to boiling water and boil for a few minutes (I like the thicker, fettuccine-style ones).
  • Meanwhile, pour a small amount of chicken stock into a saucepan and add a handful of shredded Daiya cheddar-flavored vegan “cheese.”
  • Stir constantly to melt the “cheese” into a sauce.
  • Drain noodles and pour melted sauce over noodles.
  • Then I take a kitchen scissors and cut the long noodles down to bite size, since neither Logan nor Sadie is all that great with a fork.  Obviously, this would be optional for kids with more dexterity. 

As you can see, I’m still not really following directions (like I posted in Week 45).  But it works.

Feeling: A bit deflated

 

Leave a Reply

Is This Wholeness?

A messy food, eating, and spiritual journey in 30 days.

expecting to fly

emptying the nest: the mother of intention.

All In Awe

Formerly The Diet Diaires: An attempt at alleviating autism through diet

1966

A Journal of Creative Nonfiction

BREVITY's Nonfiction Blog

(Somewhat) Daily News from the World of Literary Nonfiction

Carrie Cariello

Exploring the Colorful World of Autism

Left Brain Right Brain

Autism Science, News and Opinions since 2003.

Health, Home, & Happiness

Just another WordPress.com site

Sarah in Small Doses

Random Observations. And Sometimes Vocabulary.

Seventh Voice

Simply my take on living life as a female with Asperger's Syndrome.

