YEAR 1: 13 Lessons Learned

It’s hard to believe, but we have been on our biomedical path to recovery from autism for one year.  One year!  We’ve come a long way since deciding to try eliminating casein for three months.  To celebrate, I’m looking back on some lessons I’ve learned.  

  1. I will never be as tough or as trusting as my little boy.  Logan doggedly follows me as I ask him to eat this or that, always adapting even if his face clearly says he doesn’t want to.  But he does–and that’s why he’s my hero.
  2. Nothing feels as good as picking Logan up from daycare and hearing, “He had a GREAT day playing with his friends!” 
  3. I am stubborn–and that can be a good thing.  Die-off and doubts are hard to get through, but this approach to autism simply won’t work for a picky 3-year-old unless determination is taken to new heights.   
  4. “Quinoa” is now a word I can pronounce!
  5. Sometimes, it’s OK to spend all day Sunday cooking and freezing things for the week ahead.  Especially with two working parents.  
  6. And sometimes, it’s OK to have a messy house because of it. 
  7. Autism is impossible without family.  I couldn’t do this without my husband, the best cook in the world who’s also skeptically following my lead (by the way, happy 8th anniversary, love!).  Nor could we do it without my mom, who supports us in too many ways to count.  Having people to rely on–like my cousin Sue, who helped drive Logan to therapy appointments even while pregnant and with her own two kids in tow–makes all the difference.
  8. Cursing “What the f*@# is jicama!” when I see an unfamiliar ingredient in a recipe list does not help.  Googling “what the hell is jicama?” is more effective.
  9. Nothing inherently tastes good or bad.  You simply like what you’re used to.
  10. Eating 80% vegetables for supper eliminates almost all colds.
  11. Food (and our lifestyles) has changed drastically since World War II–I had no idea people didn’t always eat noodles for dinner four nights a week.  (I’m not being sarcastic here–this was a shock to me!)
  12. The link between autism and inner health is clear.
  13. I still hate cooking.

 

Feeling: Proud.  Incredulous. Stunned. Yet–I still have to admit, a bit disappointed.  After the setback of two weeks ago, Logan has been back to his wonderful self.  I do believe we’ve seen progress–but I expected, or really really hoped for, more.  Over the past year I’ve read multiple stories and met with a few families who have all recovered from autism.  I believe it’s possible — but I don’t believe we’re there yet, and I can’t help feel a little let down.  What did those families do differently?

Luckily, as I said, I’ve learned that I am as stubborn as stubborn gets.  So here’s to more progress in Year 2.

2 responses to “YEAR 1: 13 Lessons Learned

  1. Holly

    I have talked with so many parents and very few have actually jumped in 100% done the diet like you guys did. Proud of you guys!!

Leave a Reply

Is This Wholeness?

A messy food, eating, and spiritual journey in 30 days.

expecting to fly

emptying the nest: the mother of intention.

All In Awe

Formerly The Diet Diaires: An attempt at alleviating autism through diet

1966

A Journal of Creative Nonfiction

BREVITY's Nonfiction Blog

(Somewhat) Daily News from the World of Literary Nonfiction

Carrie Cariello

Exploring the Colorful World of Autism

Left Brain Right Brain

Autism Science, News and Opinions since 2003.

Health, Home, & Happiness

Just another WordPress.com site

Sarah in Small Doses

Random Observations. And Sometimes Vocabulary.

Seventh Voice

Simply my take on living life as a female with Asperger's Syndrome.

