Fed up and counting down …

GAPS book

The GAPS book by Dr. Natasha Campbell-McBride

A couple of weeks ago I wrote about the GAPS diet that Logan’s new MAPS doctor suggested we try … since then, I’ve been reading the GAPS book and the tons of GAPS blogs out there.  And thankfully, a friend who’s gone through it with her family has been sending me lots of information.  It’s kind of overwhelming, but … I’m starting to feel more confident about it. 

So, let the countdown to implementing GAPS begin.  Our target date: 9/27/14.

While I feel more prepared, I’m still dreading the first few days.  GAPS Stage 1 is pretty much restricted to just bone broth soup (maybe some boiled meats and veggies thrown in).  I’m sure Logan will go into meltdown mode when I inform him he can’t have his “treats”: Snapea Crisps, quinoa milk, pumpkin muffins, dairy- and sugar-free chocolate chips.  And from everything I’ve read, most people experience some awful withdrawal symptoms, too.

But the white bumps on his tongue have returned (and actually, I have them now, too, plus a gross white coating on my tongue, which makes me think I have thrush), and I’m about ready to try anything to heal our stomachs.  The Body Ecology diet didn’t help us enough – here’s hoping GAPS will.

Still, one thing has me worried.  I am trying to be as dedicated to going head-on GAPS, as strict as possible.  But that had been my intent with BED, too, and I know we only adhered to it about 95%.  The trouble is, as hard as I try, my window to cook is pretty thin.

Jason and I watched Fed Up the other weekend, a documentary narrated by Katie Couric about the food industry.  It was fantastic, and I’d have said eye-opening if thanks to Logan we hadn’t already started on a healthy-food journey.  Everything, it seems, boils down to avoiding processed foods–at all costs.

Fed Up

The documentary does a great job of showing how processed foods have made us all fat and sick.  It shows quite clearly how getting off the Standard American Diet and onto a diet made from whole foods is a lifesaver.  But there was one problem.

Nowhere in the documentary did it address why we as a nation got on our SAD diet in the first place.  It chronicled a family who got off the diet and onto a healthy one, lost a ton of weight, then put it all back on again.  The movie sort of made it seem like such a shame, and left you wondering, why on earth did they quit?  Why’d they go back?

Because they had to.

The families in the documentary all appeared to be working-class families, as many of us are.  And the simple fact is it is almost impossible to cook actual food while two parents work full time.  The reason Americans eat processed foods is because we have to work.  We only have 30 minutes to cook, and Hamburger Helper caters to that.  Cooking any other way takes time that most of us don’t have.

All of my friends who eat healthy and who have healthy families all have a stay-at-home mom.  Every GAPS blogger and healthy food blogger I come across is a stay-at-home mom.  I calculate my time each day down to the minute to accomplish both working and cooking real food, and there have been days I arrived at work and realized I hadn’t had time to go to the bathroom since the night before.  Mornings are just too packed.

Katie Couric’s advocacy that we not only change the way we eat but change the way we regulate the big food industry is has good intentions, but it won’t be enough.  The way we eat is tied to the way we work, and until that can change, most Americans will continue a diet of processed foods.

Feeling: Fed up

Leave a Reply

Is This Wholeness?

A messy food, eating, and spiritual journey in 30 days.

expecting to fly

emptying the nest: the mother of intention.

All In Awe

Formerly The Diet Diaires: An attempt at alleviating autism through diet

1966

A Journal of Creative Nonfiction

BREVITY's Nonfiction Blog

(Somewhat) Daily News from the World of Literary Nonfiction

Carrie Cariello

Exploring the Colorful World of Autism

Left Brain Right Brain

Autism Science, News and Opinions since 2003.

Health, Home, & Happiness

Just another WordPress.com site

Sarah in Small Doses

Random Observations. And Sometimes Vocabulary.

Seventh Voice

Simply my take on living life as a female with Asperger's Syndrome.

